Janathon 2016, Day 10 – A walk along the front

Looking across the muddy bay to Port Talbot

 
I know that those two people managed to find some mud. Lots of it in fact. But as much as I fear that I need to find some in order to complete Janathon properly, I don’t fancy sploshing about out there.

I was happily engaged in sitting down and using my new camera to photograph everything that moved and most of the things that didn’t. The only reason that this post isn’t even more picture rich is that it poured down most of the time I was outside.

It seems strange to me that tourists flock to Mumbles: it being an idyllic little seaside town where many people buy the properties as 2nd homes. And yet, just across the Bay lies Port Talbot with its Steel works belching out exhaust fumes day and night. It’s the most polluted place in Wales and said to be more polluted than anywhere else in Britain other than London. Something you wouldn’t deny if you’ve ever driven through it on the M4.

Mumbles front looking towards the lighthouse

I love this place, and I love living here. In no time at all from my front door I can get down to the sea and stroll along the prom. This is normally my starting point for a walk along the prom: Mumbles car park. The car park is the hardest part of the walk to navigate because most visitors are just that, they have no idea of the layout of the car park and have a tendency to drive at you from all directions with a rabid look in their eyes as they try to pounce on the last open place. Luckily, at the moment the car park is closed due to nearby refurbishment of the old cinema.
I wonder where they’ve all gone?
Perhaps they take one look at the lack of car park and go away again?
They’re certainly not parking anywhere else in Mumbles. There’s no room.

As I said: It rained. It rained a couple of million buckets. I was utterly drenched. But it was great to be outside. It was also interesting to people watch as I took one of my many stops (The front is great for that because there are benches every few metres). In the summer the front is full of happy families and couples linked arm in arm. I have to admit that I, as a single person wandering along can feel quite lonely in that sea of happy people. But today was a different story entirely. Today it appeared to be those who had to go out for a run and those who had to take their dogs out for their run that were milling about. And the colour scheme was entirely different: neon tops flashed passed me at different speeds. But the dog walkers seemed to favour blending in to the murkiness of the day.

Looking towards Swansea City Center

My sister lives over there!
That’s Swansea’s city centre with Kilvey Hill rising up in the background. Her house lies roughly behind the Meridian Quay tower. Which at 29 storeys is the tallest building in Wales. (Yes, I’ve been looking at Wikipedia. I can hardly shove all of these pictures in with no commentary on them can I?)

my seat

I managed to reach the half way point with no real difficulty. This seat marks 1 mile from my house. When I first moved here the seat marked the start of a pleasantly wooded section, but a few of the winter storms manged to remove most of the underlying soil so that the trees were clinging on for dear life by just their roots. And now we have boulders instead.
On the return journey things got a little more difficult. My legs were on a complete “go slow”; by the time I got back to the car park, so I didn’t actually mange to walk 2 miles because I cheated and got a taxi back up the hill. But I certainly got enough exercise today.

And I also got to watch two lifeboats out in the Bay complete what looked like a complicated mating ritual.

2 lifeboats, Mumbles lifeboat station and lighthouse

 
A walk along the front: 3.2km walk
Steps Taken: 9,454
Difficulty level: medium

One thought on “Janathon 2016, Day 10 – A walk along the front

  1. awesome!
    I love the pictures!! It makes me want to go for a walk somewhere more interesting than my normal around-the-block-through-the-tiny-park lunchtime jaunt!
    I also always wondered how we got new lifeboats this seems to answer the question admirably!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

