Janathon 2017, Day 15 – Still here!

Nearly halfway through Janathon and I’ve been able to exercise every day. I am exceptionally pleased with that.

img_3488b

Having my niece stay overnight normally wears me out completely. But when I woke up this morning I knew that I was on tip top form mentally and that meant that the Little Ray of Sunshine and I were able to enjoy the morning before she headed home AND I was left with enough energy to exercise. Not once, but twice.

I completed 30 minutes on my recumbent bike again. (It’s amazing how easy it is when I’m feeling good mentally) I then decided to give my arms a workout and attempt my normal bed weights session of 5 reps of 20 dumbbell lifts on each side. Unfortunately this new bed is a lot higher off the floor than my old one. Something I forgot when I finished. I went to carefully lower the dumbbell and instead all 7kg crashed on to my bedroom floor. Whoops!

bed-weight

Disclaimer: my “bed weights” routine has developed through necessity. It doesn’t target all arm muscles. It isn’t something that I suggest anybody else bothers trying. What it is, is an exercise that I can do to some degree or another no matter how bad I feel. When I can’t get outside, or even push myself to walk up and down the room, I can often con myself into doing my “bed weights” because I can give up after 20 lifts if I want to. And often just doing those first 20 lifts can encourage me to just do 20 more until I’ve moved my arms up and down for 20 minutes.

Still Here Day: 30 minutes cycling, bed weights
Steps Taken: 3,647
Difficulty Level: Easy

2 thoughts on “Janathon 2017, Day 15 – Still here!

  1. that is all awesome!!

    well done for still being on the janathon wagon… (i am reading these backwards so I know you make it to 18 😀

    I unceremoniously fell off my janathon wagon 😦 but I am still doing things!!

    I love the bed weights concept…and exercise in general is all about finding a way to convince yourself to move just that bit, then that bit more 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

