Juneathon 2017, Day 2 – 11th Birthday Party (not mine)

IMG_5147b

11th Birthday Cake

I thought today would be a bust in terms of exercising for Juneathon because it was “Party Day”. My nephew turns 11 tomorrow, so we held a small family birthday party for him today. And in preparation for that, my niece and I made this whopper of a birthday cake for him yesterday. I wouldn’t say that it was the most fantastic looking creation in the world, but it tasted fantastic. My niece was justifiably proud of what she’d made and the fact that she’d kept it a secret for a whole 18 hours.

I thought my nephew would take one look and think how awful it looked.  You see all of these marvelously detailed creations that others make and then he gets… well… this. But he just looked flabbergasted when he saw it. And in a good way.

By the way, if you ever make a cake with maltesers stuck precariously on to it, be prepared for a way to stop them escaping when the cake is cut. Or at least be prepared to find maltesers in the deepest, darkest depths of your room for weeks to come. I think that watching 4 adults launching themselves at escaping chocolatey balls might have been his favourite part of the whole day.

So, as you can imagine, after stuffing myself with a birthday lunch and a small portion of one of the most humongous chocolate cakes you’ve ever seen, I was in no fit state to move. And by the time we’d played a few party games my brain was also frazzled. So once they departed I headed to bed and hoped that I’d be able to do my Juneathon exercising before midnight struck.

IMG_5192b

The Patti Pavilion, Swansea

The first thing I did was my upper body workout to Kanye West’s “Gold Digger”. It went far better than yesterday because I hadn’t got a 9 year old staring at me as I wiggled about.

Then I tried some Plié Squats.
By golly I managed to do them!
I didn’t expect that at all. My knees are still pretty weak, and at 23 stone I’m asking them to do quite a bit of work if I attempt a squat. But not only did I squat, I also got back up again, 10 times.
Unfortunately I felt absolutely nothing in my thighs, where the exercise is meant to target. It was my knees that felt the burn. Next time I’m going to get the mirror out and try to improve my form. (mirror 😦 bleugh!)

And then I headed out towards the Patti Pavilion and then the seafront for a walk to finish off the day.

11th Birthday Party Day: Stretching, 10 Plié Squats, walk to top of Black Bridge and back
Steps Taken: 10,412
Difficulty level: Easy

3 thoughts on “Juneathon 2017, Day 2 – 11th Birthday Party (not mine)

Leave a Reply

