Juneathon 2017, Day 5 – A quest for medicine

I’d been looking forward to heading off to Pontardawe for a Geocaching Event today. But it wasn’t to be.
Geocaching essentially entails finding little plastic boxes in the woods. A Geocaching Event is where you meet up with people in order to talk about finding the little plastic boxes in the woods. All very obvious and a great way to have a chat with equally bonkers-minded people.

I realised on Saturday that I had run out of medication. Or rather that I would after Saturday night. Thankfully my prescription was waiting at the chemist. But of course it would have to be the weekend when I spotted that I’d not got any left! Oh, and to make things just that little bit more difficult, guess who hasn’t changed their GP yet from the grand move across Swansea back in March? So although my tablets were at the chemist, they were at a chemist in Mumbles, 4 miles away.

It was with difficulty that I dragged myself out of bed today. Having not had last night’s tablets didn’t help, but the main problem was that it was bucketing down.
That made me feel better about not being able to head to the Geocaching Event. Instead of spending a couple of hours dripping on a bus it would only be 40 minutes.

IMG_5274b

My “local” chemist

Having picked up my prescription I started Juneathon’s exercise in earnest

 

IMG_5275b

Joe’s ice-cream

Erm, via a quick detour which involved two scoops of Joe’s Ice-cream to congratulate myself on getting to the chemist. I can thoroughly recommend their Welsh Cake flavour (top right).

But… as I was saying… I did some exercising by walking along the sea front. It wasn’t the most pleasant experience as it was horrendous weather and I was soaked to the skin by the time I’d got a few feet. But I felt far more sorry for those walking towards me as I’d purposefully chosen to walk with my back to the wind and they were getting it lashing in their faces.

IMG_5277b

Horrible weather

I’m very happy with today’s achievement of 10,341 steps.
(And with managing to pick up my tablets)

A quest for medicine day: A walk along the seafront
Step Count: 10,341
Difficulty level: Easy

2 thoughts on “Juneathon 2017, Day 5 – A quest for medicine

Leave a Reply

