Juneathon 2017, Day 6 – How tall am I?

IMG_5283[1]b

Creepy building near my house

I’ve felt very weepy all day.
That’s what missing a couple of days of antidepressants does to you.

Today’s Juneathon exercise wasn’t completely impeded by my low mood, but it did make things harder.
First came the “morning stretch” routine where I sit up in bed and wave my arms meaningfully to a song. Today it was Kanye West’s “Stronger”. And I swear that if all of that jiggling about hadn’t made me desperately need to go to the toilet I would have laid back down and curled up under the covers for the rest of the day.

Then I decided that I’d go for a walk.
That seems reasonable doesn’t it? Somewhere nice like down to the beach? No! Today of all days, when I was feeling so low, I decided to register with a new doctor. I am a fool.
Strangely it went well enough. I plucked up the courage to go through the door and ask the receptionist for the relevant forms to fill in. My brain was just about able to fill them in before turning into its usual pile of anxiety ridden mush. All good. Another job sorted.

But no. Life is never that simple is it? Apparently I also needed to weigh myself on some fancy machine in the corner of the waiting room. One which would also do my blood pressure and check my height.
At this point my brain was screaming “Get. Out. Of. Here. As. Fast. As. You. Can!” but my body slowly moved towards the machine. There was no getting away from it, in order to become a member of this General Practise I would have to interact with the “machine”, just like everyone else in the room watching me had done. I sat down opposite it to prepare myself (and generally check the thing over). And then… I went and did its bidding.

Apparently I’m 163cm/5’3″ tall.
I don’t think I’ve ever known that before. I know roughly how tall I am, but have answered anywhere from 5’2″ to 5’4″. The problem comes from nearly always being measured in footwear and trying to then remove them from the equation (this thing made me take my sandals off – a true despot). It sounds like a simple calculation. But it can all be a bit confusing. For instance, in my walking boots I know where the sole ends, but at what height does the footbed stop? And what about my heel inserts? Anyway, it was good to finally find out how tall I am. Unfortunately it’s all downhill from here. The Old Trout is a shining example of this. She used to be a good inch or so taller than me, but now she’s shrivelled down to nose level.

IMG_5282B

My Stats

Oh, and don’t take any notice of the blood pressure readings. Like I said, I was rather stressed 😉

After that I headed swiftly out of the door and walked around town for a while to raise my step count.

P.S. My normal weight is not between 49.2kg and 66.2kg although I’d love that it was.

How tall am I Day: Morning Stretch, Walk around town
Step Count: 7,307
Difficulty Level: Medium

7 thoughts on “Juneathon 2017, Day 6 – How tall am I?

  1. Good grief!! Well done for going through with that!! I think if I had to do that in the waiting room I would have turned around and walked out!!

    I object strongly to it stating “normal weight” and “normal BMI” this means nothing and is basically body shaming for anyone at either end of the scale!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would disagree with the “normal weight” & “normal BMI” for the reasons you’ve mentioned, but I know a lot of plonkers who don’t seem aware that they’re overweight and it’s a good springboard from which to start. Take that analogy further and I’m the one doing that largest bellyflop into the water 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, you are right about that!
        There are a lot of people quite happy to live in denial about it and I suppose it needs to say something…
        even if BMI should be banned it is, as you say a starting point 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Well done with going through that ordeal M. I shudder to think how tall I am now as obviously if I am shorter I should weigh even less and certainly far less than I do now!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. PS I always thought I was 5ft 2 like for about 20 years or whatever since I was fully grown. Then the nurse at school
    Measured and I was actually 5ft 3
    I was a bit gutted

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

