Juneathon 2017, Day 21 – Gardening counts, doesn’t it?!

No more!
I’m completely fed up with this hot weather!

Like most other people in the country, the recent heat wave has been a bit difficult for me to bear. In my house the temperature has reached 31°C upstairs and is currently sitting at 24°C downstairs. I just want to cry! My legs and feet are so swollen and my head feels as if it’s about to melt. Not to mention the huge lakes of sweat that I’m depositing everywhere.

But I am lucky in that I’ve got one of these:

IMG_5559b

Large fan

Please note the extra attachment that I’ve added in the last few days: an ice-block. Someone posted something about popping a bottle of water into the freezer and then placing it in front of a fan in order to blow cool air over yourself. It seems to work using this method too. A bit.

Despite the heat I thought that I’d still go for a walk for today’s Juneathon exercise. It’s been reasonable after sunset, with a pleasant breeze. And then I remembered: My sandals broke yesterday.
There are three other pieces of footwear that I own. I own a pair of bright blue crocs, which in no way, shape, or form am I going to be seen dead wearing around town. They’re comfy and great for the garden, but I’m not certain how well they’d hold up on a mile long walk. There are a 2nd pair of sandals, but they are close-fitting at the best of times. And you know I mentioned that my feet were swollen? Well, I think that by the time I’d got to the end of the street I’d probably have rubbed the skin raw. I try my best not to gurn my way around the place unless absolutely necessary – and trust me, this walk today did not seem necessary enough to both tear the skin from my feet and make me look like an angry, sweaty warthog to all and sundry. And the last option? My leather walking boots. No. Just, no. They too are a little tight width-wise and my ballooning feet were not going to be squeezed into them today. No.

But, gardening counts as exercise, especially if you have to get into all sorts of awkward positions to do it, right? Of course it does. And here is the proof that I’m not making up the gardening:

IMG_5556b

removal of bellbine

I finally got around to weeding the patch of wildflowers that I sowed back in May. They seem to be doing well.
I then watered my plants and pondered upon what this beauty in the corner is going to turn out to be.

 

IMG_5557

What is it?

 

I consulted the Old Trout on the matter. She was wonderfully wise as usual and said “I don’t know. Have you tried Google?”
I think it’s some sort of currant bush. It would be wonderful if it was. Very reminiscent of my childhood: We used to have a blackcurrant bush and my grandparents had a redcurrant bush. This is a picture of me aged 8 having just “stolen” some berries from our bush.

027 Emma aged 8.5 after stealing berries

I have met my daily step goal.
And I’ve ordered some new sandals. (Thank goodness for next day delivery.)

Gardening counts doesn’t it Day: Gardening
Steps Taken: 4,009
Difficulty Level: Moderate

4 thoughts on “Juneathon 2017, Day 21 – Gardening counts, doesn’t it?!

Leave a Reply

