Juneathon 2017, Day 24 – A Barbeque


Today I had one of the Sprats over and we had a barbeque. This was because I’d some sausages that desperately needed cooking and because I couldn’t face any activity more strenuous than chucking bits in a box and wandering outside to cook.

I awoke this morning to a little bit of a headache and legs which refused to work. It reminded me of how they were a few months ago. It took a full 5 minutes to get out of bed and to the bathroom. They didn’t hurt, there just wasn’t any power in them.

I can’t say that I’m surprised. I flipping danced last night. Only to one song. But I think I remember jumping up and down at one point. As this is something that has been impossible for the last 3 years it came as quite a shock. My poor knees didn’t know what hit them. Especially as after the jiggling about I also walked the mile home.

I would have done some weights today in lieu of walking, but the youngest sprat has been here, expecting my undivided attention. And as an Aunt I feel it is my duty to spoil my niece and nephew rotten whilst I can and give them valuable life lessons and words of wisdom in the process.


“Dinner tastes better when it’s cooked outside.”

“A little bit of rain won’t kill you.”

“Don’t hold the tongs like that, or you’ll drop the saus… oh.”

“Stop waving that flaming stick in my face, it’s hot.”

“Don’t puggle your nose with the tongs!”

“See what happens if you start jiggling whilst I’m stirring the pot?!”


All in all a very easy way of amusing   the sprat for 4 hours. The highlight was definitely the baked bananas we had for desert. I think she was most impressed. I may have gone up a notch in her estimation with those wonderful delights. I certainly went up a notch in my own estimation. They were amazing. Why have I never had them before?!

A barbeque day: 1 mile walk

Steps Taken: 7,356

Difficulty level: Easy

3 thoughts on “Juneathon 2017, Day 24 – A Barbeque

  1. I was with you up until the baked banananananas!!

    I am a well known banana-phobe 🙂

    is bananaphobia a thing? it should be…

    anyway!

    I think “Stop waving that flaming stick in my face, it’s hot.” should go down as one of the greatest pieces of advice ever…and also something of an understatement 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

